Board of Directors

The current board of directors consists of 23 elected and ex officio members. According to the Bylaws, elections are held to replace three or four outgoing directors each year. The board elects its officers. The duties carried out by members of the board can be seen here.

2023 Board of Directors

Thomas Nowotny

University of Sussex, UK

Leonid Rubchinsky

Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Indiana University School of Medicine, United States
Vice-President and Secretary

Volker Steuber

UH Biocomputation, University of Hertfordshire, UK
Ex President

Gennady Cymbalyuk

Georgia State University, Atlanta, United States

Christiane Linster

Cornell University, USA
Program Chair

Shailesh Appukuttan

Centre National De La Recherche Scientifique, Gif-Sur-Yvette, France
Website/Infrastructure Chair

Ingo Bojak

University of Reading, UK
Publications Chair

Salvador Dura-Bernal

SUNY Downstate, Brooklyn, USA
Registrations Chair

Christopher French

University Of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia
Deputy Website/Infrastructure Chair

Max Garagnani

Goldsmiths, University Of London, London, United Kingdom
Sponsorship Chair

Cengiz Gunay

Georgia Gwinnett College, Lawrenceville, United States
Newsletter Chair

Julie Haas

Lehigh University, Bethelehem, United States
Deputy Travel Awards Chair

Renaud Jolivet

Maastricht University, Maastricht, The Netherlands
IBI Liaison Manager

Tatiana Kameneva

Swinburne University Of Technology, Hawthorn, Australia
Deputy Registrations Chair

Thomas Knösche

Max Plank Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Leipzig, Germany
Local Organizer

Eirini Mavristaki

Birmingham City University, Birmingham, UK
Social Media Chair

Christoph Metzner

Technische Universität Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Membership Chair

Claudio Mirasso

Universitat De Les Illes Balears, Palma De Mallorca, Spain
Deputy Social Media Chair

Dimitrios Pinotsis

University Of London-City, London, United Kingdom
Sponsorship Chair

Maurizio de Pitta

University Health Network, Toronto, Canada
Tutorials Chair

Srikanth Ramaswamy

Ecole Polytechnique Federale De Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland
Workshops Chair

Malin Sandstroem

International Neuroinformatics Coordinating Facility (INCF), Stockholm, Sweden
Education and Training Chair

Friedemann Zenke

Friedrich Miescher Institute For Biomedical Research, Basel, Switzerland
Travel Awards Chair

Anthony Burkitt

The University Of Melbourne, Parkville, Australia
Past Local Organizer


Boards of Directors for: 2022